• When is The Ashes 2023? – Looking Forward to This Years’ Ashes Series

    Published Wednesday 31 May 2023 2:42pm

    4 min read

    Looking forward to this year’s Ashes series? View the full team selections, where to watch the Ashes, and the history of the competition on the WheresTheMatch blog.

By WherestheMatch Team

‘The Ashes’ is cricket’s most well-known and iconic ongoing event where England and Australia play cricket against each other every two years in a series of matches to earn one of the most famous trophies in sport – The Ashes Urn. It is held alternately in England and Australia and both teams play a series of five test matches which each last up to five days. The Ashes began in 1882 when Australia beat England in The Oval (London), winning by 7 runs on British grounds. This was the beginning of one of the biggest rivalries in sports history.

The Story Behind The Ashes

On the 29th of August 1882, England lost to Australia on their own soil, the term “Ashes” was first used, which birthed the ongoing event we know today as we are approaching The Ashes 2023. A day after the disaster in 1882, the sporting times carried a mock obituary of English cricket which concluded that: “The body will be cremated and The Ashes taken to Australia".

The trophy awarded to the team who wins (The Urn) is about 10.5cm tall and is believed to contain the Ashes of a burnt lady’s veil. The words written on The Urn are “When Ivo goes back with the Urn, the urn; Studds, Steel, Read and Tylecote return, return; The welkin will ring loud; The great crowd will feel proud; Seeing Barlow and Bates with the Urn, The Urn; And the rest coming home with the Urn.” The original Ashes Urn is held at the MCC Museum at Lords, however, it has been taken to Australia to be put on a touring display on two occasions as part of the Australian bicentenary.

Watch The Ashes 2023

The Ashes 2023 will take place 16th June to the 31st July 2023 in England where the current champions, Australia, will play to hold their title as the cricket champions of The Ashes 2023. If you’re unable to attend The Ashes 2023, you can watch the cricket game live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event. It will consist of a five-match Ashes series, as usual, and one test-off match against Ireland. The Ashes 2023 event will be held in Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval – the birthplace of The Ashes. After losing 4-0 in the last series, England are determined to regain their title in The Ashes 2023; this is not something you want to miss.

The players for The Ashes 2023 have already been selected and the squad for Australia consists of; Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

The English team includes; Ben Stokes (captain and best batter of all time), Ollie Pope, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Dan Lawrence, Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes, Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Mark Wood, Matty Potts, Jack Leach. This list includes some of the best cricket players in our current time.

The Future of The Ashes

The upcoming Ashes Series promises to be a thrilling battle between England and Australia. Cricket fans from all over the world are eager to witness some of the most talented players in the sport go head-to-head in what could be a series-defining clash.

As the sport of cricket continues to evolve, so too will the Ashes Series. Each successive tournament is sure to become more competitive and entertaining than its predecessors, as teams strive for victory and push each other ever further in pursuit of excellence. Technology has changed the way cricket is played over recent years and this is sure to have an effect on the Ashes Series. With advancements such as Hawk-Eye, Player Performance Analysis and Decision Review Systems being implemented in stadiums worldwide, it has never been easier for players and teams to improve their game. The future of the Ashes series looks bright indeed. As cricket continues to reach new heights, so too will the rivalry between England and Australia, as both teams strive to become the best team in world cricket.